Woman's exceptional care, centered on you

Subscribe Now Looking for tailored content delivered straight to you? Sign up for our e-newsletters today!
 
Pregnancy & ChildbirthWellness & PreventionTreatment & Care
To learn more about car seats and additional child safety, such as recalls, life vests and other safety programs, visit www.lexleeskids.org.

Child Safety Seats

For Younger Infants
Birth to One Year Old and under 20 lbs.

Louisiana’s Child Passenger Safety Law states a child should remain rear-facing from birth to 1 year of age and until he reaches at least 20 pounds.

Type of seat: Infant seat or rear-facing convertible seat
Seat position: Rear-facing

  • A rear-facing car seat is in the back seat of the vehicle.
  • Harness straps are not twisted and are even with or below the infant’s shoulders.
  • Harness straps are snug so extra webbing at the shoulders can’t be pinched.
  • The chest clip is fastened at armpit level.
  • The seat is reclined to a 45-degree angle. A firmly rolled-up towel or foam noodle may help.
  • Never put an infant in a rear-facing seat in the front seat of a vehicle.

For Older Infants
Under One Year Old But Over 20 lbs.

Louisiana’s Child Passenger Safety Law states a child should remain rear-facing from birth to 1 year of age and at least 20 pounds.

Type of seat: Convertible
Seat position: Rear-facing

  • Convertible car seat is rear-facing in the back seat of the vehicle
  • A convertible safety seat with a higher rear-facing weight limit is used
  • Never to put an infant in the front seat with a passenger side air bag
  • Harness straps are not twisted and are even with or below the infant’s shoulders
  • Harness straps are snug so you can’t pinch extra webbing at the shoulders
  • Chest clip is fastened at armpit level
  • Seat is reclined to a 45-degree angle – a firmly rolled-up towel or foam noodle may help

For Toddlers/ Preschoolers
Over One Year Old And 20-40 lbs.

Louisiana’s Child Passenger Safety Law states a child over 1 year old and weighing at least 20-40 pounds should ride forward-facing in a convertible or combination seat.

Type of seat: Convertible or combination seat (with an internal harness)
Seat position: Forward-facing

  • Harness straps are not twisted
  • Harness straps are in the upper reinforced slots (at or above shoulder level)
  • Harness straps are snug so you can’t pinch extra webbing at the shoulders
  • Tether strap is used if car is equipped with tether position
  • Chest clip is fastened at armpit level
  • Car seat is in upright position

For Younger Children
Over 40 lbs. and Up to 80 lbs. and Up to 57” Tall

Louisiana’s Child Passenger Safety Law states a child weighing 40-60 pounds or at least 4-6 years old should ride in a belt positioning booster seat.

Type of seat: Belt positioning booster seat (backless or high backed)
Seat position: Forward-facing

  • Belt positioning booster seat must be used with both lap AND shoulder belt
  • Lap portion fits low and tight over hips and upper thighs
  • Shoulder belt crosses the center of the shoulder and chest (not across the neck)
  • Child’s knees bend comfortably at the edge of the automobile seat

For Older Children
Six and Older and at Least 60 lbs.

Louisiana’s Child Passenger Safety Law states a child must be at least 6 years old or at least 60 pounds to use a vehicle lap-shoulder belt.

Type of seat:
Vehicle lap-shoulder belt

  • Lap portion fits low and tight over hips and upper thighs
  • Shoulder belt crosses the center of the shoulder and the chest (not across the neck), and never under the arm or behind the back
  • Child’s legs are long enough that the knees bend comfortably at the edge of the seat
  • Child sits all the way back against the seat and stays properly seated throughout the ride